How can I unlock a record that has been "locked" for editing?

How can I unlock a record that has been "locked" for editing?

If you're reading this, you've probably received an error saying that a record you wish to access has been locked for editing! This means that another cataloguer from your organisation is currently updating the record or page you want to update. 

To access a record that another cataloguer is working on, you need the permission to Unlock Records. Check out this article to learn how to modify member permissions. 

Still have questions? Submit a Helpdesk ticket.

Alert
Note that only one person can edit the Organisation details page at any one time. 
    • Related Articles

    • Why can’t I update a record?

      When viewing an Item record, you can click the Update button on the to the top right of the screen to edit the record. If the Update button is not visible, this could be because the record is currently locked by another cataloguer at your ...
    • Why can't I add a new record?

      When viewing your organisation’s catalogue, you can click the New record button on the left of the screen to create a new object, artwork, publication or archive record. If the New record button is not visible, this could be because you have ...
    • Selecting an appropriate record category

      The Victorian Collections CMS offers cataloguers four different record categories. For each item you catalogue, you will be able to select an Object, Artwork, Publication or Archive record category. BEFORE YOU BEGIN Your choice of record category ...
    • Video: conducting a health check

      Health Checks have been implemented in the Victorian Collections CMS to help you get your records into tip-top shape! Data Health Checks: Reviews your records against collection management standards to make sure you are capturing what are considered ...
    • What if my session is interrupted while I am in the middle of cataloguing an item?

      Never fear, autosave is here! The Victorian Collections CMS has an autosave function which will save your work in draft form regularly. If your computer crashes or your browser is shut down while you are editing a record, a draft record will be ...